The Team

Meet the Appleate team

Lawrence Churchill CBE - Chair

Lawrence Churchill CBE – Chair

Lawrence Churchill has been Chair of Applegate’s Board since 2015. He is also Chair of the Pensions Policy Institute, Chair of Prudential's Independent Governance Committee and a Trustee of the International Longevity Centre.

Following a number of senior roles in the financial services industry, including Chief Executive of UK and Ireland and of International Life at Zurich Financial, Executive Chair of Unum and Chief Executive of NatWest Life and Investments, Lawrence has held a number of high profile chairmanships, including of the Pension Protection Fund, the National Employment Savings Trust and the Financial Services Compensation Scheme. He has also served as Senior Independent Director of BUPA and of Good Energy plc

Lawrence was appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire in the 2010 New Year's Honours list in recognition of his public service.

Professor Jim Norton FREng - Non-Executive Director

Professor Jim Norton OBE FREng - Independent Director

Jim also joined Applegate’s Board in 2015.

He is currently an external board member of the UK Parliament's Office of Science & Technology, the independent Chair of the UK Spectrum Policy Forum, a Board Member and Trustee of the Foundation for Information Policy Research, a Governor and Chair of the Audit Committee of Coventry University and a visiting professor at Sheffield University. Jim chairs the Digital Systems Community of Practice of the Royal Academy of Engineering and sits on advisory panels for the Irish government.

Jim is past president of BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT, and was Chief External Examiner for the IoD Certificate in Company Direction. Jim was a member of the Strategic Stakeholders' Group of the UK National High-Tech Crime Unit prior to the creation of the Serious Organised Crime Agency (SOCA). In business his non-executive roles have included Securicor plc, Senior Independent Director of Zetex plc and Chair of the Audit Committee of FC Capital Income Investment Trust plc.

Jim was formerly chief executive of the DTI Radiocommunications Agency and later led the Cabinet Office team that produced the PIU report '' for the Prime Minister in 1999. Jim was a member of the Independent Climate Change E-Mails Review and a Commissioner in the IPPR Commission on National Security.

He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2011.

Stuart Brocklehurst - Chief Executive

Stuart Brocklehurst - Chief Executive

Stuart has been Chief Executive of Applegate since 2014.

His past roles include Head of E-Commerce Strategy at Barclays plc, Senior Vice President and Head of Digital Commerce at Visa International CEMEA and Group Communications Director of Amadeus IT Group. Stuart has served as a non-executive director on the boards of several companies, mainly in the technology sector, and was Chairman of Octopus Apollo VCT2 plc.

Stuart is a Director of the Heart of the South West Local Enterprise Partnership, sits on the Great South West Steering Group and Patron of Pilton House Trust.

Chris McCormack - Finance Director

Chris McCormack - Finance Director

Chris joined in 2015 from Bank of America Merrill Lynch.

Prior to Applegate, he built his career in finance at leading investment banks and hedge funds, including JP Morgan, Credit Suisse and BlueCrest Capital Management. Additionally, he built and grew his own business, a ski chalet company in the Alps, which he then sold. Chris is responsible for all aspects of Applegate's financial management, forward planning and credit control.

Lawrence Churchill CBE - Chair

Steve Paine – Head of Marketing

Steve joined Applegate in 2009, and was appointed Head of Marketing in 2016. In addition to responsibility for the company’s brand and reputation, Steve also leads the team that operates Applegate’s procurement system, overseeing the end to end process for buyers and suppliers.